EV Charger Installation Quote: What Each Line Should Say

A quote dated this autumn that knocks 30 percent off its total for "federal tax credit" is subtracting something that no longer exists for a new home charger. The IRS instructions for Form 8911 put it in one sentence: P.L. 119-21 moved the section 30C termination date from 31 December 2032 to 30 June 2026, and "you can't claim the credit for alternative fuel vehicle refueling property placed in service after June 30, 2026" (IRS, Instructions for Form 8911, read 9 October 2026). Placed in service, not ordered. If the charger goes on the wall in October, the line is fiction.

That line is easy to spot once you know. Most of what makes three bids for the same charger land thousands of dollars apart is quieter: one bidder priced a 40-foot run through finished walls with a permit and two inspections, another priced 8 feet of surface conduit and left the permit "by owner", and the third priced a service upgrade nobody calculated. Each number is honest about a different job. The only way to compare them is to make every bid describe its job in the same pieces.

What follows is the list of pieces. It is not an instruction to wire anything, and this site is not an electrician or an inspector. Every technical choice below belongs to the licensed contractor and, in the end, to your authority having jurisdiction, the permit office whose adopted code edition and local amendments decide what passes. The point is to read a bid well enough to ask the right question about it.

The charger and the labor belong on separate lines

Start with the box itself. A bid that says "Level 2 charger installed, $X" has folded the equipment, the labor and the materials into one figure, and two such figures cannot be compared unless both name the same make, model and amperage. Some bidders supply the unit; some install one you already bought. Either is fine. The quote should say which, and if the bidder supplies it, the model number and price should sit on their own line.

Incentive paperwork makes this concrete. Rhode Island's PowerUpRI program, run by the state Office of Energy Resources with the Rhode Island Infrastructure Bank, asks for two separate documents: a charger sales receipt "that includes the purchase date and purchase price of the charger" and an electrician service receipt "that includes the installation date, the cost of installation, and the location of installation" (PowerUpRI Rebate Program Guidance Document, posted 5 January 2026, read 9 October 2026). The rebate itself forks on the job. Without an electrical upgrade it covers 100 percent of the charger's purchase price up to $800; with one, it covers 50 percent of installation costs up to $1,000, or 75 percent up to $1,500 for income-qualified applicants.

Read the program's definition of "electrical upgrade" before assuming you are on the cheaper fork. It "includes, but is not limited to, panel upgrades, new circuit installations, wiring extensions, and any work that connects directly to the electrical panel." A new dedicated circuit counts. So the line on your invoice that says "new 50A circuit" is the line that moves you into the installation-cost rebate, and an invoice that does not separate it from the charger price leaves the program nothing to measure.

Two smaller details from the same document are worth carrying into any program you apply to. It requires installation "by a certified, licensed electrician," and it gives you 180 days from the date on the electrician's receipt to apply. That receipt date is the clock. Programs differ, and plenty of utilities run their own with their own equipment lists, so the habit to keep is this: read the program's required-documents list before the electrician writes the invoice, not after.

The equipment line should also tell you whether the unit is certified for the program you have in mind. PowerUpRI restricts eligibility to ENERGY STAR certified Level 2 chargers, and points applicants to the ENERGY STAR product finder for AC-output chargers. One oddity to know about: numbered item 9 of the same guidance says chargers must be "Energy Star Certified in accordance with the Appliance and Equipment Energy Standards or UL-certified," and the bullet directly beneath it says "only chargers that are Energy Star Certified may be purchased or installed." If you are near that line, ask the program in writing which sentence governs.

The circuit: amps, breaker, conductor and length

The single most useful line on a quote is the one describing the circuit, because it fixes most of the material cost and reveals whether the bidder sized it for the charger you are buying.

Ask for four things on that line. The charger's output in amps. The breaker size. The conductor size and type. And the approximate run length from the panel to the charger location.

The first two are linked by a rule this site has quoted before. The 2023 NEC's 625.42 states that "electric vehicle charging loads shall be considered to be continuous loads," which is why the circuit is sized at 125 percent of the charger's output: a 40-amp unit on a 50-amp circuit, a 48-amp unit on a 60-amp circuit. If a bid lists a 48-amp charger on a 50-amp breaker, either the charger will be set to a lower output or something is wrong. Either way it is a question. Whether you need the 48-amp unit at all is a separate decision about your car's onboard charger, and it can change the circuit, the conductor and the bid in one move.

The conductor line is where two bids for the same circuit can quietly differ. Section 334.80 bases the ampacity of Type NM cable, the sheathed cable common inside house walls, on the 60°C column of Table 310.16, even though the conductors inside it carry 90°C insulation (EC&M code quiz on NM ampacity, read 9 October 2026). In Table 310.16 as the wire maker Cerrowire reproduces it, 6 AWG copper is 55 amperes in the 60°C column, the one it labels NM-B, and 65 in the 75°C column (Cerrowire ampacity chart, read 9 October 2026). Put that next to a 48-amp charger, whose 125 percent works out to 60 amperes, and a quote reading "6/3 NM-B, 60A breaker" deserves a question about how the bidder got there. That is not a verdict; correction factors, terminations, and the adopted edition all enter the electrician's answer. But a bid that only says "wire" gives you nothing to ask about, and a bid that names the cable gives you a precise question.

Then the individual circuit. The 2023 NEC's 625.40 requires EV supply equipment rated greater than 16 amps or 120 volts to be supplied by an individual branch circuit, with an exception for more than one charger on one circuit when an energy management system manages the load under 625.42(A) or (B) (Mike Holt, Understanding the 2023 NEC, Volume 2, 625.40, read 9 October 2026). A quote that proposes putting the charger on an existing circuit, the dryer circuit for example, runs into that individual-circuit rule on its face. Ask the bidder which section and which listed device make it acceptable, and get the answer in writing.

Run length is the number that moves cost the most and is written down the least. Conductor price scales with distance, and on a long run the bidder may upsize the wire to limit voltage drop, a design judgment that two electricians can make differently. Two bids that guessed different distances will differ for that reason alone. Ask each one to state the length it priced.

If the plan is a receptacle rather than a hardwired unit, two more items appear: the GFCI breaker and the receptacle's part number. Both are covered in the hardwired versus plug-in piece, including the manufacturer instruction that conflicts with the GFCI rule. On a quote, the short version is that "install 14-50" without a part number for the receptacle and a description of the breaker is not specific enough to compare.

The route between the panel and the parking spot

This is where the low bid usually gets its low number, so read the scope words closely.

A run can go through finished walls and ceilings, along the surface in conduit, through an unfinished basement or attic, or under the yard in a trench. Each has a different labor cost and a different set of exclusions. The quote should say which route it priced and what it does not include.

Concealed work brings its own inspection. Santa Clarita's residential charger checklist says that "when work will be concealed within the wall, an additional rough inspection will be required" (City of Santa Clarita, Electric Vehicle Charging Station Checklist, revised 8 January 2025, read 9 October 2026). That is an extra visit, which is extra scheduling and sometimes an extra fee, and the drywall cannot be closed until it passes. A bid priced for a fished wall and a bid priced for surface conduit are not the same job.

Drywall patching and painting are the most common exclusions. Many electrical contractors cut access holes and leave the repair to you. That is a legitimate way to bid, provided it is written down, because a bid that excludes patching will look several hundred dollars cheaper than one that includes it and will cost you the difference later.

Trenching has more variables. NEC Table 300.5 sets the minimum cover for underground wiring by wiring method, so direct-burial cable, nonmetallic conduit and rigid metal conduit each have their own depth, and a crossing under a driveway changes the figure again. Local amendments can require more. A trench line that gives a length but no method cannot be compared with one that gives both, and it cannot be compared at all with one that says "trenching by owner." Ask for method, depth, length and whether the bidder restores the surface.

Location can also add an approval nobody mentioned. In Santa Clarita, installing an EV charger or EV receptacle outdoors requires Planning approval before Building & Safety will issue the permit. That is one city, and yours may have no such step. But "outdoor pedestal" on a quote is a reason to ask the permit counter whether anything beyond the electrical permit applies.

What the load calculation assumed

Every quote rests on an answer to one question: does the service have room for this circuit? The difference between bids is whether that answer was calculated, measured, or assumed.

Santa Clarita's checklist shows how a permit office can draw the line. For service under 200 amps it requires "a residential load calculation performed in accordance with CEC Article 220 by a qualified professional (i.e. C-10 contractor or licensed Electrical Engineer)" that includes the proposed charger and justifies that the existing panel or subpanel has capacity. At 200 amps or more, no calculation is required unless the charger circuit is greater than 60 amps, though the city recommends one. The checklist is written to the 2022 California Electrical Code, so treat it as an illustration of how a jurisdiction can frame the requirement, not as your rule.

The quote should say which calculation method it used, or at least whether one was done. If it priced a service upgrade, it should say why, and "older home" is not a why. An existing service can be calculated from twelve months of actual maximum demand under NEC 220.87, which often lands well below the nameplate method, and the 220.87 piece walks through getting that figure from your utility. A bidder willing to quote both ways is giving you more information than one who quotes only the expensive answer.

Panel, service and utility work, kept apart

When a bid includes "upgrade," make it say which of three jobs it means. A panel replacement adds spaces without adding capacity. A service upgrade replaces the entrance gear and raises the ampacity. Work on the utility side, the drop, the transformer and often the meter, belongs to the utility, runs on the utility's application and schedule, and carries the utility's own charges or none at all. The four routes around a panel upgrade explain why the distinction decides which alternatives are open to you.

On the quote, each of those should be its own line, and the utility portion should say who applies to the utility, who pays any utility fee, and whether the bid's timeline depends on the utility's. A service upgrade quoted as one lump with a two-week schedule has made an assumption about somebody else's calendar.

New or upgraded panels also need their own electrical permit in many places. Santa Clarita notes that these "may be combined with the EV charger or receptacle outlet permit submittal." Combined or separate, the permit lines should reflect it.

Permit, inspections, and who does the paperwork

A home charger installation in many jurisdictions needs an electrical permit, and the bid should treat it as a line item rather than a footnote.

California's Contractors State License Board lists, among the details a home improvement contract should contain, "a description of the work, price, payment schedule, who will pull necessary building department permits, and when the job will begin and end," together with the contractor's license number, address and phone number (CSLB, A Consumer Guide to Home Improvement Contracts, read 9 October 2026). Outside California the specific contract law differs, but the list is a sound template. A bid that says "permit by owner" has moved the application, the fee and the inspection scheduling onto you, and it will look cheaper for exactly that reason.

The inspection count belongs on the quote as well. Santa Clarita says typically one building inspection is required for a residential charger, with additional inspections possible depending on scope, plus the rough inspection for concealed work. It also requires a copy of the manufacturer's installation manual to be on site at inspection, and all equipment to be "listed by a nationally recognized listing agency, such as UL." If a failed inspection means a return visit, the quote should say whether that visit is included.

License, deposit and change orders

Check the license before comparing prices. Most states run a public lookup: California's is the CSLB license check, Texas's is the TDLR license search. The license number should be printed on the quote, and the name on the lookup should match the business on the letterhead. Incentive programs that require a licensed electrician, like the Rhode Island one above, will ask for the same thing later.

The deposit line has legal limits in some states. In California, if a home improvement contract calls for a down payment, "the down payment cannot be more than $1,000 or 10 percent of the contract price, whichever is less," excluding finance charges, and the CSLB guide adds that "there are no exceptions for special order materials." The only carve-out it names is for the handful of licensees with a blanket performance and payment bond on file with the board. The same guide notes that home improvement projects over $500 in combined labor and materials must be in a contract, and that any change in price must be made by a written change order. Other states set their own rules; check your state's contractor board.

That change-order rule is the reason to want everything above itemized. A bid that leaves the run length, the conductor, the trench method and the permit vague has left room for every one of them to come back as a change order once the wall is open.

Putting three bids side by side

Here is how itemizing changes the comparison. Every figure in this table is made up for illustration. None is a price quoted anywhere, and your bids will look different.

Line Bid A Bid B Bid C
Charger Customer's 48A unit Supplied, 48A model named Supplied, "48A unit"
Circuit 60A, conductor named, 45 ft 50A, "wire", length not stated 60A, conductor named, 45 ft
Route Fished wall, patching excluded Surface conduit Fished wall, patching included
Load calculation 220.87 from utility data None Standard method
Panel / service None needed None listed Service upgrade, utility work "TBD"
Permit and inspections Contractor pulls, 2 inspections By owner Contractor pulls, count not stated
Total (made-up example) $2,100 $1,250 $5,900

Bid B is cheapest because it is shortest. It has no permit, no load calculation, a 50-amp circuit that does not fit a 48-amp charger at full output, and a route nobody may want on a finished garage wall. Bid C is the most expensive, and it may be right, but it priced a service upgrade off a standard calculation and left the utility portion undefined. Bid A is the only one where every line can be checked. You might still choose B or C. You would be choosing it knowing what it left out.

To get there, send all bidders the same list before they quote: charger model and amperage, breaker size, conductor size and type, run length, route and exclusions, load calculation method, any panel or service or utility work on separate lines, who pulls the permit and how many inspections are included, license number, deposit and payment schedule. Ask each to fill it in. A bidder who will not itemize is telling you something before the job begins.

Frequently asked questions

Should an EV charger installation quote list the charger separately from labor?

Yes, and some incentive programs effectively require it. Rhode Island's PowerUpRI guidance, posted 5 January 2026, asks for a charger sales receipt showing purchase date and price and a separate electrician service receipt showing installation date, installation cost and location, and it pays a different rebate depending on whether an electrical upgrade was needed. One combined figure makes that split impossible to show. Even where no program is involved, a separate equipment line is the only way to tell whether two bidders are pricing the same unit.

Can I still take the federal 30 percent tax credit for a home charger?

Not for a charger placed in service after 30 June 2026. The IRS instructions for Form 8911 state that P.L. 119-21 moved the section 30C termination date from 31 December 2032 to 30 June 2026, and that the credit cannot be claimed for refueling property placed in service after that date. The date that counts is when the charger is placed in service, not when you signed or paid. A quote that subtracts a federal credit from its total for an installation happening now is subtracting money you will not get back.

Why does one bidder include a load calculation and another doesn't?

Partly because some permit offices require it only in certain cases. Santa Clarita's residential checklist, revised 8 January 2025, requires an Article 220 load calculation by a C-10 contractor or licensed electrical engineer when the service is under 200 amps, and not at 200 amps or above unless the charger circuit exceeds 60 amps. Your jurisdiction may set a different line. A bid that skips the calculation where one is required has left out work the permit will demand later, and a bid that prices a service upgrade without one has not shown why the upgrade is needed.

Who should pull the permit, me or the electrician?

Ask before you sign and get the answer on the contract. California's licensing board lists who will pull the necessary building department permits among the details a home improvement contract should contain, alongside the price, payment schedule and start and end dates. In practice the licensed contractor usually applies, but the permit fee and the number of inspections still belong on the quote as their own lines, because a concealed run or an outdoor location can add visits and approvals that a one-line bid does not mention.